Although Texas is considered a state with fairly lenient gun laws that are beneficial to legal gun owners, it is still possible to be arrested for a weapons charge. Law enforcement officers do not take these crimes lightly, and you could easily end up facing serious felony charges if you violate a Texas weapon law.
At the Law Offices of Kyle K. Shaw, PLLC, we are able to examine the evidence against you and either fight the charges or negotiate a plea deal to have your charges reduced significantly. Since 1998, our Allen criminal defense attorney has been protecting the rights, reputations, and freedom of all our clients throughout the community.
In 2016, Texas officially became an open-carry state for handguns. Unfortunately, many people do not understand that they still need a concealed handgun license to open carry. It is also important to keep in mind that weapons are not limited to guns exclusively.
Illegally carrying a handgun without a license, as well as illegal possession of a switchblade or brass knuckles, is a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by a maximum county jail sentence of one year and a fine of up to $4,000. The rest are third-degree felonies, punishable by a maximum prison sentence of 10 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Our Collin County criminal defense lawyer can investigate your arrest and build a strong defense strategy to get your life back on track. Do not let a simple mistake affect the rest of your life.
Contact us and request a free consultation immediately.