The most common question most people have when arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) are “What are the penalties for DWI?” The answer is not encouraging, because the penalties for DUI/DWI in any state are usually very harsh, and Texas is no exception.
If convicted of your first ever DWI in Texas, you could face:
The penalties for intoxicated driving increase significantly with each subsequent offense. A third or subsequent DWI could lead to a felony conviction and a state prison sentence.
* An IID requires you to blow into a built-in breath test machine and will not allow you to start your car if your blood alcohol levels are too high.
intoxicated driving charges in Texas can also be aggravated by certain circumstances. If you had a child under 15 years old in the vehicle, then you could face a $10,000 fine, a 2-year jail sentence, and 180 days of license suspension. If someone is injured or killed in a DWI accident that you caused while driving drunk, then you could face charges of intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter.
Do not take chances with your freedom. If convicted of DWI, you could go to jail and have to pay some steep fines. By speaking with Collin County DWI lawyer Kyle Shaw today, you will have a higher chance of getting your sentence reduced or your charges dropped altogether. The Law Offices of Kyle K. Shaw has the answers, support, and legal representation that you need, no matter how many DWI charges you have on your record.
Attorney Kyle Shaw has handled many DWI cases over his 18 years in practice and knows exactly what to do from the moment he takes your case. Many DWI arrests are made solely because of the police officer’s opinion about your level of intoxication. In other cases, a breath test result could be thrown out due to mistakes or misconduct. Find out what Mr. Shaw and his team could do for you.
Contact a DWI lawyer right away to discuss your options in a case consultation.